Let the chips fall where they will

 sat across the table from him. We hadnt seen eachother in a while….

He moved to Shanghai , met a girl, fell in love…Got married and divorced within a year.He took a long deep swig of his Jack & Coke …heavy sigh….

“So how do you do it”?  he asked. ” How do you make the distance work with her? I couldnt make it work with Anna while we were in the same county!” I didnt want to let her go..but she wouldnt stay no matter how much i asked… and the irony is , she was the one that fucked this up…but i love her.”  (he added softly)

” How do you ever know that its going to work?” …Sobs came slowly and then fast and i felt his pain in waves.

I waited for him to compose himself and he dried his eyes hurredly and looked at me as if to say…”Give me something i can believe or trust in.”

I shook my head , patted him on the back and said..

“The truth is you never know really.” (his face fell, hope was fleeting

I smiled re-assuringly.

” We cant control other people…only influence. We cant know everything…simply believe.”
Everyone has their own barrometer of right and wrong…and we are nothing, if not the people we are when we think nobody is watching.”

Be the best person you can be for yourself and the people you love…let the chips fall where they may.

I put him in a cab…sent him on his way….

“He will be alright!”, i thought as i walked away.

I pulled my iPod out of my jacket pocket and went to random play… the song playing on my jukebox tonight…

” …Cos all of the stars, Are fading away
Just try not to worry,You’ll see them some day
Take what you need,And be on your way
And stop crying your heart out…”

I looked up at the sky and smiled as it started to drizzle….

“He will be alright!”, i thought as i walked away…

~ by koc1978 on August 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
