Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
I saw Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind again today and I knew that it was going to be something I needed to write about…. What makes me want to write about it is simply that I relate to it. It’s the love story I always wanted to see made – a real one with only the chance of a happy ending – no guarantees.

The concept is so universal and yet so hidden – “We love who we love…and we can’t help ourselves… “

As I reflect on the themes explored in the film I find myself realizing that they are are so pertinent in this day and age – way more than the film lets on to the less inquiring mind.

Mankind is passing through a poignant time in their social history …were all overwhelmed by our aloneness….and were all searching for our “Eternal Sunshine”.. In drink, drugs, books, film, life-partners, one night stands…the list is endless.

I don’t know how many people feel, in this day and age, that there is nobody there for them…or that people they love are too busy to make time for them..Pick em up.. up from the airport….up when they are down…just show that they care…. I think we all have this innately in us….were all looking for people who we can count on to pick us up when we feel smaller and more insignificant that we really are.

If we could just for a moment – elevate our consciousness to the point where we can comprehend this film on a scale greater than that of just one relationship, we’d open our eyes to the reality that we should take more chances on people and in life, no matter what the outcome. & that both good and bad go hand in hand and that we should stop trying to control where we end up because were going to get there in any case….how difficult the journey is , is upto us .


In the end I believe that we must all re-learn to open ourselves up to the possibility that our endings can be happy ones and that people are innately good. So rent the DVD if you havent seen it! – Go; ask that person out; move to a new place; take a risk. You never know what could happen!

I know I did and the smile on my face says it all….i hope you find yours.

~ by koc1978 on August 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
